keropdoc.blogg.se

Untangle firewall vs pfsense
Untangle firewall vs pfsense











  1. Untangle firewall vs pfsense how to#
  2. Untangle firewall vs pfsense full#

Untangle firewall vs pfsense how to#

It all comes down if you are willing to learn how to use their WebGUI, as you would with Untangle and Sonicwall. They have a support subscription in two types, one with access to tickets and e-mail support, and another with direct support over phone, for example. You can argue that Untangle and Sonicwall have companies behind to support it, PFSense does to. If you have background and know how to manage Switches and Routers, common network knowledge is enough.Įvery solutions have it's own scheme of things, how you setup a Proxy might me the same concept in all solutions, but slightly different steps. Well, the interface to manage it being user friendly depends entirely on the user really. Not because of it's easy, because I tested a lot of solutions, from M0n0wall, Smoothwall, Sonicwall, Untangle, IPCop, until settled to PFSense.

untangle firewall vs pfsense

Well, I manage a total of 35 servers running PFSense. That said, I've read of people doing the 2 in a combination (PFSense as the basic firewall first then untangle in transparent bridge) in which case that may be pretty awesome but then that's another piece of hardware the person would have to manage and it would just be easier to do Untangle in router mode and let it handle everything.Hi! That said, I've read of people doing the 2 in a combination (PFSense as the basic firewall first then untangle in transparent bridge) in which case that may be pretty awesome but then that's another piece of hardware the person would have to manage and it would just be easier to do Untangle in router mode and let it handle everything. I'm not sure the OP is doing those things or other, but everything I've seen shows PFSense is good as just a firewall, not so much as a "complete solution" like Untangle is. I'm not sure it can do different policies. Yes, it can do OpenVPN but it is NOT as easy. I'm sure there are many more, but the reports in PFSense by default aren't at all detailed. Stuff I know Untangle can do that I'm not sure PFSense can do easily is Active Directory mapping, different policies by host/IP, OpenVPN, detailed reports. It is very powerful, but I'm not sure that's what he's really looking for. While I love PFSense at home, it is NOT as user friendly to setup and manage as Untangle. I use PFSense at home and Untangle at work. PFSense is completely on the game in terms of features and cost.

Untangle firewall vs pfsense full#

I know the market is full of BS towards Sonicwall, yes I hate to use the term BS, but in this business I saw marketing influencing people's decisions more than real technical analysis. So tell me Spiceheads, does this sound like a good idea? What do you recommend I should do? Also ask questions if you have any.Įnvironment: Private School, 120 Devices, about 8 remote workers (not all the time). (Everything else we have, besides the Untangle Server is a VM) Another bonus is that the 2008 R2 server box can be decommissioned since it is not a VM. Personally I just don't feel that regular RDP is very safe compared to VPNs. To remote in, currently we use a 2008 R2 server to RDP into our network. The main reason why I would want this is to save the money from the Sonicwall appliance, licenses/warranties and convince the boss to get Pertino for our remote workers. I really love untangle and it is very easy to use. So the question is, is Untangle just as good as the Sonicwall as far as protection goes? The sonicwall needs to be upgraded soon, but I was wondering if maybe I could just move the Untangle Server up as our gateway/firewall and completley get rid of a need for a sonicwall appliance. We have a Sonicwall TZ 200 and we have the latest version of Untangle running in transparent bridge mode right behind the sonicwall.













Untangle firewall vs pfsense